DIY Mother’s Day Gifts!

image (39)

ACCESS DENIED TO MY MOTHER:

Seriously Mommy, I don’t want you to see your gifts yet, so stop right there!

Don’t read any further.

For everyone else reading,  these are the DIY/ store-bought gifts that I got my mom for mother’s day, all bundled up into one cute DIY box!

Mommy, if you’re still reading, you better stop! 

Okay, I think we’re safe now.

So, first of all, I attempted to do a DIY canvas! And it was so much easier, and turned out a lot better than I thought it would (:

This is what ya’ need!

-Glossy Mod Podge

-Craft/Acrylic Paint

-Canvas

-Picture (I printed mine on computer paper)

-Paintbrush

image (32)

Paint all sides & the outside edge of the canvas.

I did this, because my picture was just a bit smaller than the canvas!

image (33)

Once your paint dries, apply one coat of Mod Podge to the entire face of the canvas.

You’ll want to do this step fast, because it dries so quick!

image (34)

Here we are.. just lay your picture on the canvas!

If I could do it again I would have done it a lot slower & steadier.

As you can see, mine ended up with a few wrinkles!

photo (50)

After you lay down your picture, you do an all-over top coat of Mod-Podge.

Give it some time to dry, and then you’re golden!

Next up, we have the DIY car trash bag!

Nifty, huh?!

image (38)

And a nice little commissary bag for the lining!

image (37)

I also made myself a bag, and I love it!

I no longer have an excuse for a messy car… as if I ever did!

I did not do a tutorial on this one, because I followed this tutorial right here (:

It’s actually very easy, and is great practice for beginning sewers.

And, as seen in my Jewelry Making post on the home page

Made these babies for a whopping $1.00 total!

I bought all the stuff on clearance, and didn’t have to use any ‘jewelry tools’ to make them.

So easy, I wonder why I didn’t do this earlier!

photo 1 (3)

And what else, but a bracelet to match?!

I love the simplicity of this one!

photo 2

And some not-so-DIY, shirts from good ol’ T.J. Maxx! 

I have noticed that you can go into T.J. Maxx, not needing to buy a thing, and you end up finding all these things you never knew you ‘needed’!! 

It’s such a great surprise (:

photo 1 (6)

Next step is to bundle it all up in some pretty pink tissue paper!

photo 2 (6)

This is a bag that I saved from my Bridal Shower!

It’s super cute, and perfect spring/mother’s day colors!

So, whoever gifted this bag… thank you, you’re awesome!

photo 3 (5)

I just cut the bag into squares that covered the front & back of the box, and mod-podged it on!

photo 4 (5)

Took a sharpie to those circles & now I’m done! (:

For those who don’t know, my mama currently lives 17 hours away!  ):

So, this is a to-go mother’s day gift!

I also have a wonderful Mother-In-Law, but she lives all the way in Brazil, so we’ll have to make up for Mother’s Day, next time we see her (:

Which will hopefully be soon!

“My mom is literally a part of me. You can’t say that about many people, except relatives… and organ donors.”

Happy Mother’s Day!

I hope that everyone has a great day, filled with great mommies, and love!

XOXOXO, The Little Wifey ❤

Leave a Reply

